## Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation Charter Division

## TRADE NAME CANCELLATION APPLICATION

FILING FEE: \$25.00
EXPEDITED SERVICE FEE IS AN ADDITIONAL \$50.00
(MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO DEPARTMENT OF ASSESSMENTS AND TAXATION)

| TRADE NAME:  |                                  |
|--|----------------------------------|
| LIST TRADE NAME EXACTLY AS FILED ON THE  | ORGINAL APPLICATION.             |
| ATTACH AN ADDITIONAL SHEET FOR ADD   | DITIONAL INFORMATION AS NEEDED.  |
| *SIGNATURE OF OWNER  | (AUTHORIZED TITLE)               |
| * THE ORIGINAL OWNER(S) WHO SIGN<br>MUST SIGN IN ORDER TO CANCEL THE<br>A COPY OF THE DEATH CERTIFICATE. | E TRADE NAME. IF DECEASED ATTACH |
| Return Address:  |                                  |
|  | _                                |
|  | _                                |



## TRADE NAME CANCELLATION INSTRUCTIONS

- 1. The filing fee of the cancellation form is \$25.00 by check or money order.
- 2. Make checks payable to the Department of Assessments and Taxation.
- 3. Mail the form and check to Department of Assessments and Taxation, 301 W. Preston Street, Room 801, Baltimore, Maryland 21201.
- 4. Insert name of trade name on blank line legibly. Each person listed as an owner must sign with original signature (no stamp, photocopy or carbon copy). If owned by a corporate entity, must indicate the authorized title of the person signing for the entity.

## How long will take to process my documents?

Regular processing time for submitted documents is about 4 to 6 weeks from receipt of document. Expedited processing requests will be responded to within 7 business days and require an additional \$50.00 fee; other fees may also apply.

For same day service the expedite fee is \$425.00. Same day filings for a trade name cancellation may be hand delivered to the drop box by 10:00 am Monday-Friday. Fees must be paid by check or money order. No cash is accepted.

Mail completed forms to:

State Department of Assessments and Taxation, Charter Division 700 East Pratt, Suite 2700 Baltimore, MD 21202.

NOTE: Due to the fact that the laws governing the formation and operation business entities involves more than filing documents with our office, we suggest you consult an attorney, accountant or other professional. State Department of Assessments & Taxation staff cannot offer business counseling or legal advice.

Revised 2024